Advertising – the superpower, not the business

 

I’ll probably get a lot of raised eyebrows for this, but to me, good advertising is like having a superpower. It’s just that instead of making me invisible or able to toast bread with a glance or [insert ridiculous superpower here], it allows me to create brands and manufacture feelings through a wide range of key ideas.

What interests me most about advertising, then, is the way in which certain ideas and strategies can be used not only to sell merchandise – which I believe should be the main purpose of all good advertising – but also to give life to and create an attitude towards a much too tangible carton of milk or a plastic case with an apple embossed on it. I mean, what would your iPhone be without a soul?

In this sense, good ideas in advertising (those big small ideas I talked about a few centuries ago) can make food taste better, soap wash cleaner and certain political figures seem smarter. The entire advertising strategy, from the awareness stage to the action stage, is, I believe, a fascinating process based on a simple yet powerful idea – the superpower which makes you the hero or the villain. Or both.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Advertising – the superpower, not the business

  1. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely excellent. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a wonderful web site.

  2. Jo says:

    Your ideas are really good, Rares. Advertising represents indeed your interest. I do believe that you can be a hero in this field. Keep on being the same and on following your dreams! 🙂 Best wishes!

  3. SERP says:

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  4. Rares Stoica says:

    Cheers SERP – I will definitely be posting some more content shortly. If you would like to stay up to date with future articles, feel free to subscribe to Billboards by clicking on the ‘Subscribe via email’ button at the top of the page. Thanks.

  5. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  6. I have been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

  7. como online says:

    I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The web site style is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a comment