I will invent a better wheel


Mediocrity is tempting. It is effortless and widely appreciated. It is actually easier to achieve than the state of being absolutely crap at something. So why not embrace it?

I recently had a pleasant conversation with a great ad man about the importance of being different in advertising. Of course, being the Lady Gaga of advertising is probably not the way to go (sounded much better in my head), but having a point of difference is paramount. And not just in advertising.

At the moment, it seems to me that most people in advertising are trying too hard to be different or creative, hence some ad campaigns that overlook the main purpose of advertising – that of selling happiness – and whose main aim is to be awarded some Lions in lovely France. If perfection weren’t so boring, I’d say I’d want Leo Burnett’s creativity and David Ogilvy’s salesmanship. In lovely France.

Great advertising requires good people – I retract that. Great advertising requires great people, people who see things differently without having to wear some magic glasses. Advertising is changing rapidly, and what might have worked five years ago might be inefficient today. I’m no retired ad man, but I’m going to say this to myself: Take roads that haven’t been travelled before. Invent a better wheel. Fail like hell. Then get it right. Be amazing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment